Peterson Business Award Dinner

Lawrence R. Ricciardi Honored at Greenwich Library’s 2018 Peterson Business Award Dinner

Lawrence R. Ricciardi, President of the Board of Trustees of the Morgan Library & Museum and Trustee at the National Humanities Center, received the Peterson Business Award on Thursday, March 1, 2018 at Greenwich Library’s Peterson Business Award Dinner. Richard H. Brodhead, President Emeritus of Duke University, presented the award to Mr. Ricciardi. Held at the Greenwich Hyatt Regency Hotel.

Peterson Business Award winner Lawrence Ricciardi and presenter Richard Brodhead

As the Library’s only major fundraiser, the dinner is vital to maintaining the quality and availability of offerings such as childhood literacy sessions, musical concerts, job search tools, technology training courses, and many other essential services provided free of charge to the community.

The Award was established in 1997 by the Library and the Peterson Foundation to “recognize and honor an individual whose innovative thinking, leadership, and sustained record of achievement has had a profound impact on the national and global economy, and whose words and deeds have demonstrated a commitment to intellectual freedom and open access to information.”

The Peterson Business Award is named in honor of Clementine Lockwood Peterson, whose 1992 bequest of $25 million made possible a new 32,000 square-foot wing at the Greenwich Library. Designed by renowned architect Cesar Pelli, this wing contains expanded business and music collections. Mrs. Peterson’s gift was made in memory of her son, Jonathan, and her husband, J. Whitney Peterson. The Peterson Business Award was conceived in order to celebrate Mrs. Peterson’s extraordinary generosity and to recognize outstanding business leadership.

For more information, contact Nancy Klein, Development Director, at (203) 622-7957 or send an e-mail.

Official Magazine Sponsor

Past Honorees & Presenters


  • Barry S. Sternlicht, Starwood Capital Group
    Presented by Alan D. Schwartz


  • Robert B. Goergen, Blyth, Inc.
    Presented by Dr. Judith Rodin


  • Robert K. Steel, NYC Deputy Mayor for Economic Development
    Presented by Walter Isaacson


  • Peter T. Grauer, Bloomberg L.P.
    Presented by William B. Harrison, Jr.


  • Indra K. Nooyi, PepsiCo
    Presented by Richard C. Levin


  • Thomas J. Neff, Spencer Stuart, U.S.
    Presented by Jeffrey R. Immelt


  • Dr. Henry A. McKinnell, Jr., Pfizer Inc.
    Presented by Ellen V. Futter


  • William B. Harrison, Jr., J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.
    Presented by Lynne V. Cheney


  • Sanford I. Weill, Citigroup
    Presented by Robert E. Rubin


  • Louis V. Gerstner, Jr., I.B.M. Corporation
    Presented by The Honorable Gerald R. Ford