Online Journals & Magazines

Looking for a particular magazine or journal? Use our full-text finder for a full-list of our online journals

Art

An online database containing close to 300,00 American and international artists. It’s a great resource for collectors, researchers, appraisers and scholars.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

This resource includes the Full text of the entire Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

This database is used to estimate the value of antiques, whether the items are for sale, for purchase or for insurance purposes. It may also be used to substantiate a formal appraisal, to assist in a family division of property or to learn what was paid for a specific item listed in the database.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Business

The focus of ABI/INFORM Dateline is full-text regional titles useful in studying business. It specializes in hard-to-find regional business publications with news and analysis of local companies and markets.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Provides business professionals with critical information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

The interactive network of Bloomberg Financial Markets offers up-to-date pricing information, history, data, analytics, and multimedia news. A generous gift of Bloomberg, L.P.

*In library access only. The Bloomberg Professional Service is not on all networked computers; its terminal is located on the first floor near the business periodicals. Reserve it at the Reference desk by calling (203) 622-7910

This database contains historical information on 80,000 defunct public stocks and a chronological record of a security, as well as details of the actions which made it obsolete. Entries briefly summarize the nature and date of the change. The information is accompanied by the present company name (if any) and whether any stockholder equity remains. Each entry includes a summary of capital changes.

First choose “Auto Login” from the top-left menu. Then choose “Library Reference” from the top-left menu. Don’t forget to click the logout button when you are finished.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only.

This new online version includes a wealth of new information and features in addition to the comprehensive database of 80,000 grant makers and half a million grants. A new, unique Professional tool, 990 Search, allows you to search across the text of our entire database of over 230,000 IRS 990s for private foundations, community foundations, and grant making public charities and exclusive funder portfolios.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

An essential resource for individual grant seekers as well as for financial aid offices and funding libraries. It provides searching of foundations and public charities that provide support to individuals.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

Foundation Maps is Foundation Center’s premier data visualization tool and the easiest way to see who is funding what and where around the world.
With millions of grants from 2006 to the present, innovative ways to visualize funding data, and the flexibility and precision to tailor research, Foundation Maps helps funders and nonprofits access the knowledge they need to make strategic decisions and strengthen their impact.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

Contains detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports, thousands of company histories and industry essays as well as full-text of scholarly journals and business news.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Hoovers.com offers comprehensive company and industry information for 43,000 private and public companies and 600 industries.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

Money.net is a complete, institutional-grade financial platform that includes real-time US equity prices, options, international equities, foreign exchange, bond and commodity futures. Money.net is for use in Greenwich Library only and not available on all networked computers; its terminal is located on the first floor near the business periodicals.

Includes detailed analyst opinions of stocks, mutual funds and exchange traded funds. Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings, or see how your investments fit together.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Find critical information on businesses in the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and other global locations. Search by Company, Executive (people), Industry, or News and Articles. Includes Analysis Reports, SWOT reports, Stock data and other vital information on businesses around the world.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Plunkett Research Online offers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, market research and corporate profiles.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Choose Business Listings for information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses; search by company name, business type, sales volume and more. Choose Residential Listings for information on over 135 million households; search by name, address, median home income and more.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

A comprehensive source of business, company, industry, and investment information. Look-up Stocks, bonds; and Mutual Funds.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

The Value Line Research Center includes online access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Look under the “quick links” to get started.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Combines Weiss Ratings and TheStreet Ratings source for financial strength ratings and financial planning tools covering Insurance, Banks, Mutual Funds and Stocks.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Career

Learning Express Library—Offers test prep for a wide range of standardized tests, as well as a college prep and career center. It also features a large number of test preparation materials and a large Spanish language library of resources.

*Please note users must create an account before they can begin using the service.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Lynda is an online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business. Experts create and deliver all courses as well as provide supplemental materials like exercise files and relevant work samples. Create an account to track progress, create playlists, and keep notes.

Note: You can only access course content through the Greenwich Library’s lynda.com login page, do not login via the lynda.com homepage. Lynda.com accounts are accessible through mobile device browsers, but not through lynda.com apps.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Education

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to full-text education literature and resources.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download App

Learning Express Library—Offers test prep for a wide range of standardized tests, as well as a college prep and career center. It also features a large number of test preparation materials and a large Spanish language library of resources.

*Please note users must create an account before they can begin using the service.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Lynda is an online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business. Experts create and deliver all courses as well as provide supplemental materials like exercise files and relevant work samples. Create an account to track progress, create playlists, and keep notes.

Note: You can only access course content through the Greenwich Library’s lynda.com login page, do not login via the lynda.com homepage. Lynda.com accounts are accessible through mobile device browsers, but not through lynda.com apps.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for research for elementary school students and their teachers.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Genealogy

Provides family historians access to more than 400 million records spanning the U.S. and beyond, including one of the most extensive online collections of early American records, and the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines. Special strengths include English, New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont), New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia materials.

Access Database in Library

*Only accessible from library

Trace your family’s history through one simple search of more than 500 million names. Key collections include U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790-1930, historical maps and much more.

Access Database in Library

*Only accessible from library

Six collections put together by the Connecticut State Library.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Family histories, genealogical serials, local histories, census information and much more.

Access Database in Library 

Remote Access

General Reference

Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Also includes selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports and a searchable archive of the past four years.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

This electronic version of the print dictionary includes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Kids Search is a user-friendly interface for children ages K – 8.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. It provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Health

Provides certification status and complete biographical and professional information about board certified physicians.

Access Database in Library

*Only accessible from library

ConsumerLab provides test results and information to help consumers evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products including vitamins, minerals and supplements, sports and energy products and more.

Access Database in Library

*Only accessible from library

Health & Wellness Resource Center offers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

It contains pages of carefully selected links to Web resources including dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources and health topics.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

History & Biography

Offers in-depth, original profiles, plus periodicals coverage, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts of interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Language Learning

Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons speakers of 21 different languages.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Legal

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Literature & Books

Contains full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines together with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works and biographies.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory tool that helps readers find new fiction and nonfiction titles based on books they’ve already read or topics in which they are interested. Readers can look for books about particular subjects, relationships, geographic areas, or periods of time. Book reviews are also available.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Access Database in Library

*In library access only

Magazines

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

The Greenwich Magazine Index includes articles as well as marriage and obituary notices published in Greenwich Magazine, Nutmegger, Greenwich Nutmegger, Greenwich Review and Greenwich Social Review. All referenced articles from 1966 – present are available in bound form at the Library.

Access Database in Library 

Remote Access

Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

Music

A music information resource with indexing, abstracts, and selected full text from many sources, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Access Database in Library

*Only accessible from library

Contains information on instruments, music and musicians, including guides to different periods and styles.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Newspapers

Full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of Connecticut Post, Greenwich Citizen, Greenwich Post and Greenwich Time.

Greenwich Time (2005 — current)

Greenwich Citizen (2002 — 2013)

Greenwich Post (2003 — 2015)

Connecticut Post (2001 — current)

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

The Greenwich Newspaper Index is a guide to newspaper articles of local interest, marriages and obituaries found in the Greenwich Time, Greenwich News, Greenwich Graphic, Greenwich News and Graphic and the Greenwich Observer, from 1877 – 2012. All referenced articles are available in the Library either in hardcopy or on microfilm.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

(coverage 1851 – 2011) Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Full-text holdings 1985 – current.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Full text articles (coverage: New York Times, Late Ed. 1980-current; New York Times Book Review 1986-current; New York Times magazine 1986-current)

For today’s New York Times online, click here instead. This is for in library use only.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

This database provides a comprehensive collection of the world’s major news content and includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines Includes  Full text for more than 1,200 newspapers. Detailed description of sources can be found here.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

This database contains full-text contains full-text articles from 13 major newspapers, including The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times and more. Full description of sources can be found here.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Full-text coverage of The Wall Street Journal from 1984 – present.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Full-text coverage of The Washington Post from 1987 – present.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Scholarly Journals

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App

JSTOR is an archival collection of scholarly journal articles. The collection covers the arts, biological sciences and life science. Specific subjects in the Arts collection include language, literature, folklore, religion, and art history. The Sciences collection contains articles on mathematics, ecology plant and animal sciences and much more.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Science

Full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

Access Database in Library

Remote Access

Download the App