New Young Adult Books

| No Comments

Categories:

Now that school is almost out it's time to do some serious reading for fun. Here's a few suggestions to get you started.


Click for availability and more information Arclight, by Josin L. McQuein
 
The Arclight is the last refuge in a post-apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying monsters called the Fade. No one crosses the wall of light that keeps the last human survivors safe. There's nothing else left and nowhere to go. Or so they thought, until Marina, a lone teenage girl, stumbles out of the Dark. Marina doesn't remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. And the Fade want her back. When one of them infiltrates the compound and recognizes Marina, she begins to unlock secrets she didn't even know she had. Marina knows she's an outsider in the Arclight, but she'll do anything to protect those who saved her. Whether they want her help or not. A harrowing sci-fi thriller for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin. The first in a new series.


Click for availability and more information Criminal, by Terra Elan McVoy
 
Nikki's life is far from perfect, but at least she has Dee. Her friends tell her that Dee is no good, but Nikki can't imagine herself without him. He's hot, he's dangerous, he has her initials tattooed over his heart, and she loves him more than anything. There's nothing Nikki wouldn't do for Dee. Absolutely nothing. So when Dee pulls Nikki into a crime--a crime that ends in murder--Nikki tells herself that it's all for true love. Nothing can break them apart. Not the police. Not the arrest that lands Nikki in jail. Not even the investigators who want her to testify against him. But what if Dee had motives that Nikki knew nothing about? Nikki's love for Dee is supposed to be unconditional...but even true love has a limit. And Nikki just might have reached hers. The Bookalicious blog calls this "a challenging, wrenching, stunningly done book." 


Click for availability and more information Dr. Bird's Advice for Sad Poets, by Evan Roskos
 
A teenager's attempt to save himself by writing poems, hugging trees, and figuring out what it takes to be a good brother. James experiences the highs and lows of teenage depression while he tries to figure out how it's possible to survive, even when parents and teachers do everything they can to make a kid feel crazy. If you're curious, here the author talks about the novel in an interview published in a recent issue of School Library Journal. 


Click for availability and more information Fox Forever : a Jenna Fox chronicles novel , by Mary E. Pearson
 
Locke Jenkins has some catching up to do. After spending 260 years as a disembodied mind in a little black box, he has a perfect new body. But before he can move on with his unexpected new life, he'll have to return the Favor he accepted from the shadowy resistance group known as the Network. Watch the book trailer here.

Locke must infiltrate the home of a government official by gaining the trust of his daughter, seventeen-year-old Raine, and he soon finds himself pulled deep into the world of the resistance--and into Raine's life. Mary E. Pearson brings the story she began in The Adoration of Jenna Fox and continued in The Fox Inheritance to a breathtaking conclusion as Locke discovers that being truly human requires much more than flesh and blood. 


Click for availability and more information In the Shadow of Blackbirds, by Cat Winters
 
In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen-year-old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate mourners flock to séances and spirit photographers for comfort, but she herself has never believed in ghosts. During her bleakest moment, however, she's forced to rethink her entire way of looking at life and death, for her first love, a boy who died in battle, returns in spirit form. But what does he want from her? This received a starred review in Publisher's Weekly. 


Click for availability and more information Linked, by Imogen Howson
 
Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future. Now, all she has is nightmarish visions and unexplained bruises. Finally, she's promised a cure, and a surgery is scheduled. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the truth behind her visions: She's seeing the world through another girl's eyes. A world filled with pain and wires and weird machines. Elissa follows her visions, only to find a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl--Lin--who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. A twin she never knew existed. Elissa helps Lin evade the government agents who are ruthlessly tracking her down, but they're struggling to avoid capture, and soon Elissa is forced to turn to the only person who can help: Cadan, her brother's infuriating, arrogant best friend, and new graduate of the SFI space flight academy. Cadan is their one chance at safety. But Lin is too valuable to let go, and Elissa has knowledge that is too dangerous. The government will stop at nothing to get them back. Here's a short interview with the author from the Lucky13s blog.


Click for availability and more information One + One = Blue, by MJ Auch
 
Twelve year-old Basil knows he's special--he's been associating numbers with colors since he was a kid. His gift (or curse) has turned him into somewhat of a loner, but his world begins to change when he meets Tenzie, the new girl in school who has similar freakisms. She, too, has synesthesia (a condition in which one type of stimulation evokes the sensation of another). At first, Basil is somewhat annoyed with Tenzie's pushiness, but after Basil's estranged mother returns, his life is turned upside down... and Tenzie may be the only person to help him put it back together again. 


Click for availability and more information The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door, by Karen Finneyfrock
 
Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year. But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship. Recommended perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson


Click for availability and more information This is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith
 
Perfect strangers Graham Larkin and Ellie O'Neill meet online when Graham accidentally sends Ellie an e-mail about his pet pig, Wilbur. The two 17-year-olds strike up an e-mail relationship from opposite sides of the country and don't even know each other's first names. What's more, Ellie doesn't know Graham is a famous actor, and Graham doesn't know about the big secret in Ellie's family tree. When the relationship goes from online to in-person, they find out whether their relationship can be the real thing. 


Click for availability and more information The Whole Stupid Way We Are , by N. Griffin
 
Another starred review from Publisher's Weekly. Here's what they have to say: "When readers meet 14-year-old Dinah, she's plotting to get her best friend Skint out of detention, which is Dinah all over: she's a loving worrier, loyal even to the people and things she's ambivalent about, like the Girls' Friendly Society, a service group whose members have dwindled to three older women, Dinah, and the technically ineligible Skint. The Girls' Friendly tries to help people in its small Maine town, but never in the way Dinah and Skint wish. And the truth is, Skint, whose father has early-onset dementia, could use some help himself, not that he'd take it. First-time author Griffin is good at depicting a small town where the many interconnections make it hard to know what to overlook and when to intervene, and she is equally tuned into the different ways people, adults and teens both, fail each other. It's impossible not to like clumsy, warm-hearted Dinah, even as her best intentions turn Skint's family upside down; Griffin's portrayal of Dinah and Skint's sense of injustice, frustration, and rage is wrenching and difficult to forget."

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Stephen published on June 7, 2013 3:11 PM.

New DVD's was the previous entry in this blog.

New Fiction is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.