New Poetry Books

| No Comments

Categories:

With the holidays rushing up at us it might be a good time to turn off the internet, stop shopping for a bit and read some poetry.



Click for availability and more information Bewilderment: new poems and translations, by David Ferry
 
This collection, which won the 2012 national Book Award for poetry, features new works and Ferry's translations of older, classic poems. The Washington Post called it "vivid and sometimes heartbreaking." You can read more about the book, the author and the award here.


Click for availability and more information Collected Poems, by Jack Kerouac
 
Poetry was at the center of Jack Kerouac's sense of mission as a writer. This landmark edition brings together for the first time all Kerouac's major poetic works--Mexico City Blues, The Scripture of the Golden Eternity, Book of Blues, Pomes All Sizes, Old Angel Midnight, Book of Haikus--along with a rich assortment of his uncollected poems, six published here for the first time. He wrote poetry in every period of his life, in forms as diverse as the classical Japanese haiku, the Buddhist sutra, the spontaneous prose poetry of Old Angel Midnight, and the poetic "blues" he developed in Mexico City Blues and other serial work.


Click for availability and more information Garnet Poems : an anthology of Connecticut poetry since 1776, edited by Dennis Barone
 
Connecticut may be a small state but it is large indeed in its contribution to the nation's literature. Garnet Poems features forty-two poets whose work has a strong connection to Connecticut. This is the first major anthology of Connecticut poetry to appear since the mid-nineteenth century, and includes the work of such notable poets as Wallace Stevens, Lydia Sigourney, Mark Van Doren, Richard Wilbur, Susan Howe, and Elizabeth Alexander. This features a foreward by current Connecticut state poet laureate, Dick Allen.


Click for availability and more information The Hungry Ear: Poems about Food and Festivity, edited by Kevin Young
 
The National Book Award finalist author of Jelly Roll presents an evocative collection of food poetry that meditates on the role of food in everyday life, identity and culture and includes pieces by such writers as Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Frost and Allen Ginsberg.


Click for availability and more information Later Poems: selected and new, 1971-2012 , by Adrienne Rich
 
Drawing upon 12 volumes of her published work as well as a manuscript posthumously left behind, this collection from the award-winning poet includes "From Strata," "Itinerary," "For the Young Anarchists" and "Theethsucking Bird." These and other poems look back into history and forward into the future while engaging with contemporary moments. Rich's singular command of language continues to the end. This is the final volume of poems assembled by America's most powerful and distinctive voice.


Click for availability and more information Meme: poems, by Susan Wheeler
 
Acclaimed poet Susan Wheeler, whose last individual collection predicted the spiritual losses of the economic collapse, turns her attention to the most intimate of subjects: the absence or loss of love. A meme is a unit of thought replicated by imitation. Occupy Wall Street is a meme, as are Internet ideas and images that go viral. Wheeler explores the concept of memes on a personal level using memories and wordplay to convey her thoughts and emotions.


Click for availability and more information Poems 1962-2012, by Louise Gluck
 
The collected works of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Critics Circle Award-winning writer explores her transfigured landscapes and offers insight into her unique form. Dwight Garner, writing in the New York Times Book Review, states that "Ms. Gl├╝ck's new and career-spanning "Poems 1962-2012" is a major event in this country's literature, perhaps this year's most major. It collects the entirety of this ruthless poet's verse from her debut, "Firstborn" (1968), through "A Village Life" (2009), 11 books over four decades. You can read the rest of his glowing review here.


Click for availability and more information The Poems of Octavio Paz, by Octavio Paz
 
This is the the first retrospective collection of Paz's poetry to span his entire writing career, from the first published poem, at age seventeen, to his magnificent last poem; the whole is assiduously edited and translated by acclaimed essayist Eliot Weinberger -- who has been translating Paz for over forty years.


Click for availability and more information Time of Useful Consciousness, by Lawrence Ferlinghetti
 
Even at ninety-three, Ferlinghetti shows more power than most any other poet at work today. He describes this new book, as "a fragmented recording of the American stream-of-consciousness, always westward streaming; a people's poetic history in the tradition of William Carlos Williams' Paterson, Charles Olson's Maximus, Allen Ginsberg's Fall of America, and Ed Sanders' America: a History in Verse." Time of Useful Consciousness, is an aeronautical term denoting the time between when one loses oxygen and when one passes out, the brief time in which some life-saving action is possible.His publisher calls this new collection a new call to action and a vivid picture of civilization moving towards its brink.


Click for availability and more information The Two Yvonnes: poems, by Jessica Greenbaum
 
This is the second collection from a Brooklyn poet whose work many readers will know from the New Yorker. Jessica Greenbaum's narrative poems, in which objects and metaphor share highest honors, attempt revelation through close observation of the everyday. The book asks at heart: how does life present itself to us, and how do we create value from our delights and losses? Moving from 1960s Long Island, to 1980s Houston, to today's Brooklyn, the poems range in subject from the pages of the Talmud to a squirrel trapped in a kitchen. he title poem, in which the speaker and friends stumble through a series of flawed memories about each other, unearths the human vulnerabilities that shape so much of the collection.


Click for availability and more information Writers Writing Dying , by C. K. Williams
 
In Writers Writing Dying, C. K. Wolliams retains the essential parts of his poetic identity--his candor, the drama of his verses, the social conscience of his themes--while slyly reinventing himself, re-casting his voice, and in many poems examining the personal--sexual desire, the hubris of youth, the looming specter of death--more bluntly and bravely than ever. Poet Jess Taylor said, on NPR, that " it's a jaunty and surprisingly cheerful collection of poems about being mortal and loving poetry; cheerfully accessible, slightly morbid."

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Stephen published on November 28, 2012 3:28 PM.

Graphic Novels was the previous entry in this blog.

New Fiction is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.