Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Volumes One-Four

| No Comments


Click for availability and more information Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Volumes One-Four, by Jack Kirby, with Vince Colletta, Mike Royer, others

In 1970, after having co-created most of the classic Marvel Comics Group's flagship characters (Fantastic Four; The X-Men; Thor; Hulk; Silver Surfer; Captain America), artist Jack Kirby (1917-1994) left that company over financial and creative issues and relocated to DC Comics. There, using DC's Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen's comic as a launching pad, Kirby introduced new characters under the umbrella title The Fourth World (said title coined by an anonymous DC staffer). In several issues of Jimmy Olsen and spinoff titles The Forever People, The New Gods and Mister Miracle, the artist (and now writer-editor) chronicled the conflict between the planets "New Genesis" and "Apokolips" (ruled by the evil Darkseid), who used Earth (and Superman's hometown, "Metropolis") as a battleground to wage war against one another. The New Genesis inhabitants, which included Orion, Lightray, Mister Miracle (AKA "Scott Free") and the Forever People (as well as Superman and Jimmy Olsen), tried to prevent Darkseid (pronounced "Dark-side") and his minions from getting the "Anti-Life Equation" , by which all minds in the universe could be controlled by one being. But comic audiences were unreceptive to the multi-issue/series story arc, and Forever People and New Gods were cancelled in the summer of 1972, followed a year later by the demise of Mister Miracle (Kirby had already quit the Jimmy Olsen comic due to creative conflicts with the publishers over how to depict the Superman character). Kirby was eventually convinced to tie up most of the loose ends in 1985 with the graphic novel "The Hunger Dogs", included in volume four, where Orion (having been revealed as Darkseid's son in the last issue of New Gods) and Darkseid have their final confrontation (or so it seems...). Now, Kirby's entire Fourth World saga has been collected in four hardbound volumes, with unrelenting action and situations plus memorable characters (wait'll you meet such prizes as "Granny Goodness'" and "The Deep Six") as only Kirby can do them. All four volumes feature introductions by such authors as Grant Morrison and Glen David Gold, plus informative Afterwords by Mark Evanier (Kirby: King of Comics) on what really went on behind the scenes when these books were first put together, make this series a must for fans of innovative graphic novel storytelling.

Leave a comment

We want to hear from you. Feel free to post comments, questions and other thoughts but please remember:

  • Stay on topic.
  • Be polite and respectful
  • Don’t post copyrighted materials
  • Please don’t post content that installs viruses, worms, etc.
  • No spam please.

Please see our Comment Guidelines page for more information.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry published on July 25, 2008 5:36 PM.

The Hellbenders was the previous entry in this blog.

The List of Adrian Messenger is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.