Recently in Mystery Category

KINGWEEDS.png

(Above is one of the books I enjoyed reading this year.)

The Greenwich Time just published a list of books recommended by my colleagues and myself.  Click here to read it.

Since I had sent a lengthy list (no, I'm not bragging), some of my other picks were dropped for space considerations.  Anyway, here's what else I had recommended (some may be familiar to readers of this blog):

Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, is a fun collection of short stories from several genres by such authors as Neil Gaiman and Connie Willis.  Fans of Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series (adapted for HBO as Game of Thrones) will want to check out the author's contribution, "The Rogue Prince, or A King's Brother", which is a prequel to the aforementioned series.

Jeff VanderMeer's "Southern Reach" trilogy (Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance) which revolves around the mysterious "Area X" and the government's attempts to penetrate it, is one of the most exciting and frightening works of horror fiction you'll ever read.  You'll leave the light on when going to bed after finishing this collection.

Just in time to celebrate the character's 75th anniversary comes IDW's Batman: The Silver Age Dailies and Sundays 1966-1967, which collects the first two years of the caped crusader's newspaper comic strip, written by Whitney Ellsworth and illustrated by Sheldon Moldoff, Carmine Infantino and Joe Giella.  Uneven in spots -the strip tried to combine the comic book version of Batman with the then-popular "camp" TV series- this is still a blast to read!

King of the Weeds by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins.  Private eye Mike Hammer tries to prove the guilt of a killer, whose release from prison on a technicality may destroy the career of Hammer's pal NYPD Captain Pat Chambers.  But first Mike has to fight off the mob, who think he's hiding millions of their own money.  Solid thriller with a powerful ending!

Other books I enjoyed included The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah, featuring Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, Lock In by John Scazi, and  The Most Dangerous Book:  The Battle For James Joyce's Ulysses by Kevin Birmingham.  But the most powerful one I read was probably Ron Suskind's Life Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes and Autism, a moving and life affirming account of his ultimately successful efforts to communicate with his autistic son Owen. 

(Follow me on Twitter.) 

 
KINGWEEDS.png

The latest collaboration of the late Mickey Spillane and the still living (whew!) Max Allan Collins,  King of the Weeds, the "penultimate" Mike Hammer novel,  is out now. 

 

"Death of a Citizen" by Donald Hamilton

| No Comments

Categories:

MATTHELMONE.png

The UK-based Titan Books began reissuing Donald Hamilton's Matt Helm novels from 1960-93 about a year ago.

 

"Solo" by William Boyd

| No Comments

Categories:

SOLO-007.pngAs  with Jeffrey Deaver's Carte Blanche a few years back, the Ian Fleming estate has commissioned another writer -this time, William Boyd- to produce a new James Bond 007 novel.  Solo (click here to reserve a copy from us) is the result.


 

"Ask Not" by Max Allan Collins

| No Comments

Categories:

ASKNOT.pngPrivate eye Nate Heller is back in Max Allan Collins' latest thriller, Ask Not, the immediate sequel to his two previous thrillers Bye Bye, Baby and Target Lancer (both reviewed by me here and here.)

 

"Target Lancer" by Max Allan Collins

| No Comments

Categories:

TARGETLANCER.pngJust in time (though it was published last year) to mark the anniversary of one of this country's worst tragedies  is Max Allan Collins' latest historical mystery novel, Target Lancer.  (Click here to reserve our copy.) 

 

"Live and Let Die" (1973)

| No Comments

Categories:

Live&LetDieMoviePoster.pngIt was forty years ago this week that Roger Moore made his debut as Ian Fleming's James Bond 007 in the eighth "official" installment of the film series, Live and Let Die (1973). 

 

"Complex 90" by Mickey Spillane & Max Allan Collins

| No Comments

Categories:

Complex90.pngRuthless tough guy private eye Mike Hammer returns in a cold war thriller set around 1964-65 in Complex 90, the latest Mickey Spillane thriller completed by Max Allan Collins. 

 

Further Thoughts On "Skyfall"

| No Comments

Categories:

SkyfallAmazon.pngSPOILER ALERTIf you haven't yet watched Skyfall, starring Daniel Craig as Ian Fleming's James Bond 007, then don't read the following until you do.  Lots of stuff  mentioned here will reveal some major plot twists and reading this post may spoil the viewing of the film for you.  You've been warned!

 

 

 

 

"Skyfall" (2012)

| No Comments

Categories:

SkyfallDVD.pngAfter being absent from the movie screens for four years, Daniel Craig returns as Ian Fleming's James Bond 007 in 2012's Skyfall, the 23rd official installment of the long running (FIFTY YEARS!) series.  (Click here to reserve one of our copies.)

 

About this Archive

This page is an archive of recent entries in the Mystery category.

Cult Films is the previous category.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.