Recently in Library Stuff Category

Greenwich Library "Blizzard" Hours This Week

| No Comments

Categories:

Owing to the crummy weather, Greenwich Library and it's Byram & Cos Cob branches will close today (Monday January 26) at 3:00 PM.  Plus, the library and its branches will remain closed all day Tuesday, January 27. 

For updates about our status on Wednesday, check our Library News blog

All items that were due Mon 1/26, Tues 1/27 and Wed 1/28 have been changed to be due on Thursday 1/29/15. You can also follow us on Facebook or Twitter, watch News12, listen to 1490 WGCH AM or call (203) 622-7900.


UPDATE:  Greenwich Library and its Byram & Cos Cob branches reopen at 9:00 PM this Wednesday, January 28th!


(Follow me on Twitter.) 

 

Sunday January 18 Extended Hours

| No Comments

Categories:

I'm on the second floor ref desk today/tonight until 9:00 pm.  Stop by or call me at (203) 622-7930 if you need assistance looking for stuff.

Don't forget:  We're closed Monday January 19 in observance of Martin Luther King Day.  The library & its branches will reopen on Tuesday the 20th at 9:00 am.  For this week's extended hours schedule, click here.   

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
KINGWEEDS.png

(Above is one of the books I enjoyed reading this year.)

The Greenwich Time just published a list of books recommended by my colleagues and myself.  Click here to read it.

Since I had sent a lengthy list (no, I'm not bragging), some of my other picks were dropped for space considerations.  Anyway, here's what else I had recommended (some may be familiar to readers of this blog):

Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, is a fun collection of short stories from several genres by such authors as Neil Gaiman and Connie Willis.  Fans of Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series (adapted for HBO as Game of Thrones) will want to check out the author's contribution, "The Rogue Prince, or A King's Brother", which is a prequel to the aforementioned series.

Jeff VanderMeer's "Southern Reach" trilogy (Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance) which revolves around the mysterious "Area X" and the government's attempts to penetrate it, is one of the most exciting and frightening works of horror fiction you'll ever read.  You'll leave the light on when going to bed after finishing this collection.

Just in time to celebrate the character's 75th anniversary comes IDW's Batman: The Silver Age Dailies and Sundays 1966-1967, which collects the first two years of the caped crusader's newspaper comic strip, written by Whitney Ellsworth and illustrated by Sheldon Moldoff, Carmine Infantino and Joe Giella.  Uneven in spots -the strip tried to combine the comic book version of Batman with the then-popular "camp" TV series- this is still a blast to read!

King of the Weeds by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins.  Private eye Mike Hammer tries to prove the guilt of a killer, whose release from prison on a technicality may destroy the career of Hammer's pal NYPD Captain Pat Chambers.  But first Mike has to fight off the mob, who think he's hiding millions of their own money.  Solid thriller with a powerful ending!

Other books I enjoyed included The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah, featuring Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, Lock In by John Scazi, and  The Most Dangerous Book:  The Battle For James Joyce's Ulysses by Kevin Birmingham.  But the most powerful one I read was probably Ron Suskind's Life Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes and Autism, a moving and life affirming account of his ultimately successful efforts to communicate with his autistic son Owen. 

(Follow me on Twitter.) 

 

Reminders

| No Comments

Categories:

REMINDER.png

Here's another reminder that Greenwich Library currently offers an email service for patrons who can't come into the building to ask a reference question (or help in general). We set up this service so patrons, especially those with disabilities, as well as working professionals and others "on the run", could get in touch with the library without any hassle.To access this service, click here

And the Technology Training Center downstairs next to the library café has a "Drop In Computer Lab" that's described as follows:

Get hands on assistance with downloading audio books and eBooks using OverDrive, Library databases, Microsoft Office, Internet search, email,online forms and more with library staff every Tuesday and Saturday 11 am-12 pm, and Thursday 3-4 pm.

(NOTE:  The Drop In Lab will be closed between December 23rd 2014-January 3rd 2015 on account of the holidays.)

So be sure to check out these library resources when you get a chance!

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

Greenwich Library Is Open Today, Sunday, November 16th

| No Comments

Categories:

We're open 1-5 today.  If any student needs help with a school assignment or anybody else with something they need, I'll be on the first floor reference desk during those hours. 

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
REFQUESTION.png

Here's another reminder (the last one was over a year ago) that Greenwich Library currently offers an email service for patrons who can't come into the building to ask a reference question (or help in general). We set up this service so patrons, especially those with disabilities, as well as working professionals and others "on the run", could get in touch with the library without any hassle. 

To access this service, click here

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
MAKERBOT BLOG.png

The Student Leaders and I will be overseeing the MakerBot demo at Greenwich Library on Saturday, July 19th at 2:00pm in the second floor meeting room.  Full details here

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

Gone Fishing!

| No Comments

Categories:

Back in July.

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

Greenwich Library now has a new digital library catalog called  BiblioCommons.  Learn all about it by clicking here.

And starting this week, every Wednesday until June,  the library's Technology Training Center will have a hands-on training session to show the public how to use the catalog. Click here for more info.

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

ADAPAGETODAY.pngIn our continuing efforts to provide better service to patrons with disabilities, my colleagues (thanks gang!) and I have slightly tweaked the library's ADA Page (click here to access it).  Now the name, phone number and email link of the ADA Librarian (um,me) can be found on top of that page (see above picture) so nobody has to scroll all the way down to the bottom. Especially if they're in a hurry.

I can also be emailed here as well. So if you need any kind of assistance or want to suggest or comment on anything here at the library that affects you or someone you know with a  disability, let me know.  (And yeah, we're working on texting.)  Thanks.

(Follow me on Twitter.  Yes, I know I've been slow updating it, but stuff happens...)

 

About this Archive

This page is an archive of recent entries in the Library Stuff category.

For Persons with Disabilities is the previous category.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror is the next category.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.