Recently in Library Stuff Category

It ends October 17th.  Click here to take it.

(Follow me on Twitter.) 


The 2015 Greenwich Library Community Survey

| No Comments



Greenwich Library needs your help.  We want to know what you think of our services and resources.  Do we need to start offering more stuff?  Less?  And do you still like using the library? 

You can let us know about your feelings on these and other matters by taking part in our 2015 Greenwich Library Community Survey.  Just go online here and answer the questions we ask and send off your responses to us.  This'll help us to know what works and what doesn't.

This anonymous survey is a continuation of the library's five year strategic plan launched in 2012.  The plan's goal is to provide resources and programs that meet your needs.  Your opinions are highly valued in helping us determine how to better serve the community. 

The survey is available online in English, Japanese and Spanish.  If you want a printed copy of the survey, just ask a library staff member.

Thanks a bunch!

(Follow me on Twitter.)


On July 29th, I was one of the speakers at the Connecticut State Library's "ADA for Libraries and Librarians" program held at the Middletown Library Service Center.  The headlining speaker Elanah Graham talked about what the ADA requires libraries and staff to go about assisting patrons with disabilities.  Maria Bernier spoke briefly on how libraries can apply for LSTA grants to provide assistive technology. 

And yours truly went in some stammering detail about the aforementioned assistive tech, including mention (and demonstration) of such software & devices like the JAWS screen reader, the MAGic screen maginifier, the SARA scanner, and the Ruby Handheld Video Magnifier. (See our ADA Page for more details on those services.)

Anyway, the whole 3 hour workshop was captured for a podcast in two parts which you can find on the CT State Library's Archived Events page here.  Hope you'll find it informative.

(Follow me on Twitter.)


This Saturday, July 18, beginning at 1:00 PM in the second floor meeting room at Greenwich Library, comics legend Carl Potts  will give a workshop on how students in grades 6-12 can make their own comic book.  We'll be supplying the materials you'll need.  All you have to do is bring yourselves.  Details here & here

(Follow me on Twitter.)

Thumbnail image for EC COMICS1.png

Fans of the classic EC Comics line may want to check out the Flinn Gallery's new exhibition "Ka-Pow! When Comics Imperiled America" that opens tonight at 6:00 pm and will continue until April 29th. It'll spotlight Robert Reiner's  original art collection of these highly sought comics. Greenwich Time ran a very good story on the show here.  And yours truly contributed an article on the library's collection of hardcover reprints of some of the EC books here

For more info on the exhibition, click here.

And on March 27th, Friends Friday Films at the library will be showing the 1972 EC Comics movie adaptation  Tales From The Crypt.  Details here. Below is the trailer for that film:

I'll be discussing that film in an upcoming post.   Look for it!

(Follow me on Twitter.)


This Thursday night we'll be showing as part of our celebration of Teen Tech Week the 2014 film X-Men: Days Of Future Past in the second floor meeting room.  It's a thrilling science fictional/action adventure/superhero movie and I discuss it more in this blog post.  Meanwhile, here's a trailer for the film:

Check it out if you stop by the library this Thursday night.  The movie is a LOT of fun!

(Follow me on Twitter.)


Greenwich Library "Blizzard" Hours This Week

| No Comments


Owing to the crummy weather, Greenwich Library and it's Byram & Cos Cob branches will close today (Monday January 26) at 3:00 PM.  Plus, the library and its branches will remain closed all day Tuesday, January 27. 

For updates about our status on Wednesday, check our Library News blog

All items that were due Mon 1/26, Tues 1/27 and Wed 1/28 have been changed to be due on Thursday 1/29/15. You can also follow us on Facebook or Twitter, watch News12, listen to 1490 WGCH AM or call (203) 622-7900.

UPDATE:  Greenwich Library and its Byram & Cos Cob branches reopen at 9:00 PM this Wednesday, January 28th!

(Follow me on Twitter.) 


Sunday January 18 Extended Hours

| No Comments


I'm on the second floor ref desk today/tonight until 9:00 pm.  Stop by or call me at (203) 622-7930 if you need assistance looking for stuff.

Don't forget:  We're closed Monday January 19 in observance of Martin Luther King Day.  The library & its branches will reopen on Tuesday the 20th at 9:00 am.  For this week's extended hours schedule, click here.   

(Follow me on Twitter.)


(Above is one of the books I enjoyed reading this year.)

The Greenwich Time just published a list of books recommended by my colleagues and myself.  Click here to read it.

Since I had sent a lengthy list (no, I'm not bragging), some of my other picks were dropped for space considerations.  Anyway, here's what else I had recommended (some may be familiar to readers of this blog):

Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, is a fun collection of short stories from several genres by such authors as Neil Gaiman and Connie Willis.  Fans of Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series (adapted for HBO as Game of Thrones) will want to check out the author's contribution, "The Rogue Prince, or A King's Brother", which is a prequel to the aforementioned series.

Jeff VanderMeer's "Southern Reach" trilogy (Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance) which revolves around the mysterious "Area X" and the government's attempts to penetrate it, is one of the most exciting and frightening works of horror fiction you'll ever read.  You'll leave the light on when going to bed after finishing this collection.

Just in time to celebrate the character's 75th anniversary comes IDW's Batman: The Silver Age Dailies and Sundays 1966-1967, which collects the first two years of the caped crusader's newspaper comic strip, written by Whitney Ellsworth and illustrated by Sheldon Moldoff, Carmine Infantino and Joe Giella.  Uneven in spots -the strip tried to combine the comic book version of Batman with the then-popular "camp" TV series- this is still a blast to read!

King of the Weeds by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins.  Private eye Mike Hammer tries to prove the guilt of a killer, whose release from prison on a technicality may destroy the career of Hammer's pal NYPD Captain Pat Chambers.  But first Mike has to fight off the mob, who think he's hiding millions of their own money.  Solid thriller with a powerful ending!

Other books I enjoyed included The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah, featuring Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, Lock In by John Scazi, and  The Most Dangerous Book:  The Battle For James Joyce's Ulysses by Kevin Birmingham.  But the most powerful one I read was probably Ron Suskind's Life Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes and Autism, a moving and life affirming account of his ultimately successful efforts to communicate with his autistic son Owen. 

(Follow me on Twitter.) 



| No Comments



Here's another reminder that Greenwich Library currently offers an email service for patrons who can't come into the building to ask a reference question (or help in general). We set up this service so patrons, especially those with disabilities, as well as working professionals and others "on the run", could get in touch with the library without any hassle.To access this service, click here

And the Technology Training Center downstairs next to the library café has a "Drop In Computer Lab" that's described as follows:

Get hands on assistance with downloading audio books and eBooks using OverDrive, Library databases, Microsoft Office, Internet search, email,online forms and more with library staff every Tuesday and Saturday 11 am-12 pm, and Thursday 3-4 pm.

(NOTE:  The Drop In Lab will be closed between December 23rd 2014-January 3rd 2015 on account of the holidays.)

So be sure to check out these library resources when you get a chance!

(Follow me on Twitter.)


About this Archive

This page is an archive of recent entries in the Library Stuff category.

For Persons with Disabilities is the previous category.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror is the next category.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.