Greenwich Library "Blizzard" Hours This Week

| No Comments

Categories:

Owing to the crummy weather, Greenwich Library and it's Byram & Cos Cob branches will close today (Monday January 26) at 3:00 PM.  Plus, the library and its branches will remain closed all day Tuesday, January 27. 

For updates about our status on Wednesday, check our Library News blog

All items that were due Mon 1/26, Tues 1/27 and Wed 1/28 have been changed to be due on Thursday 1/29/15. You can also follow us on Facebook or Twitter, watch News12, listen to 1490 WGCH AM or call (203) 622-7900.


(Follow me on Twitter.) 

 
BEMYEYES.png

My colleague WG sent me this article about a new app, Be My Eyes.  The app connects visually impaired people with "someone able to see and willing to help out". 

As the article points out:

"The examples the company shows in its product video include visually impaired users getting help with things like reading an expiration date, figuring out what a photograph looks like, and reading signs in an unfamiliar location. The app is more about helping with particularly difficult moments, rather than long periods of assistance."

For more info (plus an embedded link to the aforementioned product video), click here.

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

Sunday January 18 Extended Hours

| No Comments

Categories:

I'm on the second floor ref desk today/tonight until 9:00 pm.  Stop by or call me at (203) 622-7930 if you need assistance looking for stuff.

Don't forget:  We're closed Monday January 19 in observance of Martin Luther King Day.  The library & its branches will reopen on Tuesday the 20th at 9:00 am.  For this week's extended hours schedule, click here.   

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
REPOMAN.png

Read all about it here.

Repo Man will be shown at Greenwich Library on Thursday,  January 15 at 7:00 pm in the second floor meeting room.  Rated R. More details here.

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
REPOMAN.pngGreenwich Library Cult Films returns Thursday, January 15th at 7:00 PM in the second floor meeting room.  (Yes, you can bring cushions.)  We'll be showing 1984's Repo Man.  Here's a quick description:

Aimless young punk Otto (Emilio Estervez) gets hired by Bud (Harry Dean Stanton) to repossess cars that owners failed to make payments on. Then one day, Otto, other repo men, and government agents all race to find a certain Chevy Malibu which may or may not have dead aliens from outer space in the trunk...



This is a wild, almost surreal comedy-thriller  by writer-director Alex Cox that never lags in its pacing. The musical soundtrack evokes the 80s with songs by Iggy Pop, Black Flag, and Fear, among others.  All 92 minutes of it is in color and rated R for violence and language.

We'll also be having a guest speaker, my colleague Everett Perdue, who'll go in more detail about the movie and its significance (artistic and otherwise) then and now, and will answer any questions you might have.

For more info, head to our Cult Films page here.  Our next film following Repo Man will be the 1963 James Bond thriller, From Russia With Love on Thursday, February 19th at 6:30 PM in the meeting room.  See you there!

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
KINGWEEDS.png

(Above is one of the books I enjoyed reading this year.)

The Greenwich Time just published a list of books recommended by my colleagues and myself.  Click here to read it.

Since I had sent a lengthy list (no, I'm not bragging), some of my other picks were dropped for space considerations.  Anyway, here's what else I had recommended (some may be familiar to readers of this blog):

Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, is a fun collection of short stories from several genres by such authors as Neil Gaiman and Connie Willis.  Fans of Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series (adapted for HBO as Game of Thrones) will want to check out the author's contribution, "The Rogue Prince, or A King's Brother", which is a prequel to the aforementioned series.

Jeff VanderMeer's "Southern Reach" trilogy (Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance) which revolves around the mysterious "Area X" and the government's attempts to penetrate it, is one of the most exciting and frightening works of horror fiction you'll ever read.  You'll leave the light on when going to bed after finishing this collection.

Just in time to celebrate the character's 75th anniversary comes IDW's Batman: The Silver Age Dailies and Sundays 1966-1967, which collects the first two years of the caped crusader's newspaper comic strip, written by Whitney Ellsworth and illustrated by Sheldon Moldoff, Carmine Infantino and Joe Giella.  Uneven in spots -the strip tried to combine the comic book version of Batman with the then-popular "camp" TV series- this is still a blast to read!

King of the Weeds by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins.  Private eye Mike Hammer tries to prove the guilt of a killer, whose release from prison on a technicality may destroy the career of Hammer's pal NYPD Captain Pat Chambers.  But first Mike has to fight off the mob, who think he's hiding millions of their own money.  Solid thriller with a powerful ending!

Other books I enjoyed included The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah, featuring Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, Lock In by John Scazi, and  The Most Dangerous Book:  The Battle For James Joyce's Ulysses by Kevin Birmingham.  But the most powerful one I read was probably Ron Suskind's Life Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes and Autism, a moving and life affirming account of his ultimately successful efforts to communicate with his autistic son Owen. 

(Follow me on Twitter.) 

 
LOVECRAFTANNOTATED.png

Nothing says "Season's Greetings" more (at least to me) than a newly published, authoritative collection of horror/fantasy writer H.P. Lovecraft's (1890-1937)  classic tales that he wrote in the 20s and 30s for various pulp magazines.  The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft, edited by Leslie S. Klinger, was released a few months back just in time for Halloween, but horror fans will still want this for Christmas. (Click here to reserve our copy.)

The collection focuses more or less on the stories and one novel that were set in and around the fictional town of Arkham, Massachusetts and his Cthulhu Mythos. Klinger has included such thrillers as "Dagon", "The Call of Cthulhu", "The Colour Out of Space", "The Silver Key", "The Dunwich Horror", "Herbert West Reanimator", and the fatalistic, science fictional novel At The Mountains of Madness.  All of these stories have annotations in the margins spotlighting Klinger's well-researched historical back stories on the locations (real and made up) of the tales, letters, photos (including actual site in Massachusetts and Rhode Island, magazine covers and movie posters), and citations of deleted passages in the stories when first published. 

There's also an introduction by Alan Moore ( Watchmen), an essay by Klinger  about Lovecraft's life which doesn't sugarcoat over the author's racist misanthropy (to put it mildly), and a fantastic series of equally informative appendixes detailing the chronology of Lovecraft's works, screen and audio adaptations, etc.  For serious fans of the horror genre alone, The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft is required reading!

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

"The Simon & Kirby Library: Horror"

| No Comments

Categories:

SKHORROR.png

Hot off the heels of their last collection of classic comics by Joe Simon and Jack Kirby (reviewed here), Titan Books has released another volume of vintage S&K stories.


 

Reminders

| No Comments

Categories:

REMINDER.png

Here's another reminder that Greenwich Library currently offers an email service for patrons who can't come into the building to ask a reference question (or help in general). We set up this service so patrons, especially those with disabilities, as well as working professionals and others "on the run", could get in touch with the library without any hassle.To access this service, click here

And the Technology Training Center downstairs next to the library café has a "Drop In Computer Lab" that's described as follows:

Get hands on assistance with downloading audio books and eBooks using OverDrive, Library databases, Microsoft Office, Internet search, email,online forms and more with library staff every Tuesday and Saturday 11 am-12 pm, and Thursday 3-4 pm.

(NOTE:  The Drop In Lab will be closed between December 23rd 2014-January 3rd 2015 on account of the holidays.)

So be sure to check out these library resources when you get a chance!

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 
5TIPS.png

As a follow-up to my previous post on enrolling online for health insurance, writer Mary Agnes Carey at Kaiser Health News lists five tips on what to look for when you enroll.   Whether you're signing up with HealthCare.gov or state exchanges like our own Access Health CT, you'll want to read Ms. Carey's article first.  The piece includes advice on changing current plans, billing, and finding out if you qualify for financial help.  Click here to read it.

(Follow me on Twitter.)

 

Recent Comments

  • From For Persons with Disabilities, "Israeli Start-Up's New Device Helps The Visually Impaired To Read" :
    MC Mobility: Nice gadget. It will really help those who are visually read more
  • From For Persons with Disabilities, "United Nations Convention On The Rights Of Persons With Disabilities Rejected By US Senate" :
    Will: As tempted as I am to make a party-specific comment read more
  • From Mystery, ""Live And Let Die" by Ian Fleming" :
    Will: As much as I enjoyed the Bond movies, I found read more

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.