To view the Catalog menu, you must enable Javascript in your browser.

Databases


available from inside the libraryAvailable online at the Library.

also available from homeAlso available from home.


Results for favorite links search by subject:

general reference



  1   

available from inside the library

ConsumerReports.org

also available from homeConsumerReports.org


Subject:

general reference


Description:

ConsumerReports.org features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Subscribers have access to Consumer Reports' product and service Ratings and recommendations, selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports and a searchable archive of the past four years of ratings.


available from inside the library

Demographics Now: Business and People

also available from homeDemographics Now: Business and People


Subject:

general reference


Description:

Provides detailed demographic data on more than 23 million businesses and 206 million consumers. Designed with an intuitive interface, interactive mapping tools and comprehensive data, this resource makes it easy for all types of researchers to collect, analyze and act upon information including information on income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending and more, but it also allows users to compare multiple geographies and drill down to data on a specific county, zip code, congressional district.


available from inside the library

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

also available from homeFunk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia


Subject:

general reference


Description:

This electronic version of the print dictionary includes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.


available from inside the library

Gale Directory Library

also available from homeGale Directory Library


Subject:

general reference


download the Access My Library app from Gale
get the app

Description:

This collection features electronic editions of some of our most popular directories including Consultants and Consulting Directory, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media and Encyclopedia of Association. The contents are fully searchable and the directories are available from home using your Greenwich or Perrot library card.


available from inside the library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

also available from homeGale Virtual Reference Library


Subject:

general reference


download the Access My Library app from Gale
get the app

Description:

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Sample titles include Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2nd ed. and Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 2nd ed., subjects covered include business, the environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies and science.


available from inside the library

Kids Search

also available from homeKids Search


Subject:

general reference


download the EBSCOhost app from EBSCO Publishing
get the app

Description:

Kids Search is a user-friendly interface for children to search EBSCOhost databases.


available from inside the library

MainFile

also available from homeMainFile


Subject:

general reference


download the EBSCOhost app from EBSCO Publishing
get the app

Description:

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.


available from inside the library

MAS Ultra - Student Edition

also available from homeMAS Ultra - Student Edition


Subject:

general reference


download the EBSCOhost app from EBSCO Publishing
get the app

Description:

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.


available from inside the library

Searchasaurus

also available from homeSearchasaurus


Subject:

general reference


Description:

EBSCO's Searchasaurus interface provides an exciting and easy way for primary school students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Students will be riveted by the colorful, animated interface, complete with erupting volcanoes and a dinosaur guide, as they gather information on a wide range of topics. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for students to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.


available from inside the library

Student Research Center

also available from homeStudent Research Center


Subject:

general reference


Description:

The Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.




  1